Happy New Years with Pastina

31 Dec

Hello Everyone,

I want to wish you all a Happy New Year.  We are going to be having a quite evening at home tonight with just me, hubby and the kids.  My brother might be stopping by for some sushi and movie watching.  I’m kind of over the whole partying on new years eve thing.  Done that and been there.  Is it just me or does any one else’s kids seem to get sick on special occasions?  Daniel doesn’t seem to be feeling well which makes me even more glad that I didn’t make plans tonight.   It’s lunch time and I know a lot of you might be making special meals to celebrate the new year but I made a delicious and simple pastina for my son and daughter.

Mommy’s Pastina

I remember my mother making me pastina when I was younger.  I always loved all the variations that she would make .  You can totally add whatever you feel like but I would like to show you what I made today.

1 quart of homemade chicken stock (store bought would be fine also just don’t add any additional salt)

1/2 teaspoon of salt (ajust to taste)

1/2 cup of any “pastina” which is any small pasta (see picture below)  rice can be substituted also

1 carrot grated

1 celery rib grated

1 egg

Start by bringing the chicken or vegetable stock to a boil in a medium size pot.  Add your pasta to the pot and stir it quickly to avoid any sticking together.  At this point you can add your grated vegetables.  After about 8-10 minutes try your pasta to check for doneness.  My kids like when the pasta is thoroughly cooked.  Once cooked crack an egg in a bowl and whisk it with a fork. Slowly add in the egg to the pasta while whisking the contents in the pot so that the egg gets broken up before it cooks in large pieces.  Let the contents boil for an extra 30 seconds to cook the egg and you are done.  I like adding an ice-cube in each bowl to cool down the mixture.  Plus my kids like stirring their pastina and watching how fast the ice melts.  As you can see it’s not a complicated recipe but it’s definetly a good and comforting one.

Happy New Years!

Leave a Reply

